Pirate (Paul Jones, Byron)
Attributed to Seaham Pottery – plate 1
The details below from the jug above, and the mug and the plaque below, respectively. The eyes of the pirate are closer together on the first detail from the jug.
Attributed to Seaham Pottery – plate 2
The mug and the plaque have a transfer from the same plate. Ian Holmes has noted that the distinctive lustre decoration (last image) is found on items attributed to Thomas Fell, Seaham and Carr. It appears that the enameller moved around.
The transfer has at some time been titled as Paul Jones (see left and centre below). At other times, he has been identified as Byron, who had associations with Seaham.
The jug below has a tall shape and distinctive enamels which are features associated with items attributed to Seaham.
The central ship transfer to this bowl appears to be unique to Seaham. This transfer, or one very similar, appears on the Seaham Jug in the Sunderland Museum collection.
Attributed to John Carr & Sons, North Shields
We know that transfer plates used at Seaham Pottery turn up at North Shields, c1850. John Hedley Walker, the owner of the Seaham Pottery, moved his operations to Carr's Hill Pottery near Gateshead in 1849. 'Carr's Hill' refers to a village, and not to the North Shields potter of the same name. However, this does provide a plausible explanation for why the copper plates might have migrated northwards to Tyneside.
This bowl has wavy lustre decoration typical of John Carr. It also has an impressed London mark known to have been used by North Shields.
Unfortunately, the imprint of the transfer on the bowl is too blurred to judge whether it came from the same copper plate as the Seaham 2 items above (the right detail from the plaque).